Author Interview: Celia Breslin

I’d like to welcome Celia Breslin and thank her for taking the time to stop by and answer some questions about “Haven”. “Haven” was released in July, 2013 by Champagne Books and is an urban fantasy romance – just up my alley! I love the cover and can’t wait to read it.

Welcome Celia!   Image

1)      What was your inspiration for Haven?

 Vampires!  I wrote the story I wanted to read. 🙂

2)      In Haven who is your favorite character and why?

In truth, all my Haven characters hold a piece of my heart. But I hope Carina will forgive me if I confess her mentor Jonas is my favorite. An ancient vampire originally from England, Jonas embodies extreme violence in a pretty package.  He’s a man of few words, dark and moody, fiercely loyal and violently protective of those few people he loves (such as Carina).

 

I adore Jonas so much I gave him his own story, a short prequel to Haven entitled “Vampire Code.” It released October 2013, also from Champagne Books.

 3)      Tell us an interesting fact about Haven.

Haven is the title and one of the central themes of the book. Haven, defined, means “a place of safety or refuge.” Carina creates a home for herself with her best friends. And with her friend and business partner Adrian, she builds Haven, a dance club in the Castro neighborhood of San Francisco. Her club is a safe space where *everyone* – regardless of race, religion, sexual preference – is welcome. When her refuge is threatened by the emergence of vampires in her life on both Teams Good and Evil, Carina must make some hard choices…

Love of family, friends, and soul mates is explored in the novel, along with the question – just how far will you go to protect your loved ones? As you can see from the book description, Carina’s family went quite far to protect her.

4)      Do you ever experience writer’s block? How do you work through that?

I move! Seriously, exercise or a simple walk outside in the fresh air helps my muse get her groove back.

            5)  Are you a plotter or a pantser?

Both. My stories typically unfold in a linear fashion and follow a basic outline. If I try to jump around and write scenes out of order, my Muse gets cranky. If I try to work from too detailed of an outline, my Muse throws a tantrum and veers wildly off-script. It’s a fascinating and fun process.

6)      What are your ambitions for your writing career?

Write, write, and…write. J

7)      What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Exercise (yes, really!), read, hang with friends and family, watch anything and everything by Joss Whedon.

8)      Can you share an excerpt of your current work? Why did you select this particular section to share?

The excerpt below features the “First Meet” between my heroine Carina and her hero, Alexander. Magic, power, and fate draw them together in this little snippet:

Turn around.

I froze, my moment of weakness chased away by a jolt of adrenaline. I resisted Adrian’s pull. “Did you hear that?”

“Hear what?”

Silence.

“Nothing, I guess.” A wave of energy rolled into me, curled itself possessively around my body, and gave me one hell of a head rush. “Oh, wow.” I bit my lip, bracing against reaction.

Adrian tightened his grip on my waist. “Rina?”

Mark and Ren stalked over, faces grim.

“Did—? Do you—?” My mouth was so dry I could barely speak. “Do you guys feel that?”

Adrian squeezed, capturing my wandering attention, concern etched in the stern set of his jaw. “Feel what? What’s wrong?”

I started to tell them the Invisible Man hugged me against an electrified fence, but a second wave of energy bowled into me, making me tingle from head to toe. The sensation walked the line between pleasure and pain. A moan escaped me.

Mark took me from Adrian. “That’s it. We’re out of here.” He tried to pick me up, but I shook my head. Bad idea. Dizziness took the hall, and me, for a little spin.

Turn around. Turn. Around.

Was it a voice or instinct urging me on? Either way, the desire proved irresistible. I pulled away from Mark, pivoted, and forgot how to breathe.

The electric energy pulled back. The dizziness abated. All extraneous noise and people drained out of my perception until there was only Him.

Image

Thanks so much for stopping by Celia! I love your tag line. “Chosen by destiny. Bonded by blood!”

Please click on the links below if you’d like to get your hands on Haven!

AllRomance:

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-haven-1225460-149.html

 Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Haven-ebook/dp/B00DQH3SZI/

 Champagne:

http://champagnebooks.com/store/index.php?id_product=31&controller=product

Please click on the links below if you’d to get your hands on Celia! 😉

Web site/Blog: http://www.celiabreslin.com/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/celiabreslin

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CeliaBreslinAuthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/CeliaBreslin

5 thoughts on “Author Interview: Celia Breslin

  1. Great Interview!! Must admit Jonas is a favorite of mine also. AND his relationships with the younger characters. Looking forward to following the whole series.

Leave a Reply

