Keeper of the Gate: Interview with Devin

Hey everyone. I just came across an interview Devin did in early November. It sounds like him and Anna have been busy – I sure would like to hear about those beaches!! Enjoy the read – I sure did.

Devin: Thanks so much for having me. I’m a little nervous as this my first interview.

What attracts you to Anna?

“Without giving too much away, if you’ve read Keeper of the Gate you’ll be better able to relate to this, what I find most attractive about Anna is her stubbornness. I love a woman who knows what she wants and she definitely knows. Oh and the suit she wears certainly doesn’t hurt either.” (Smiles and winks) “But don’t tell her I said that.”

What repels you about Anna?

(Gets more comfortable in seat and scratches at his temple.) “I’m going to go right back to my last answer and say the same thing. Her stubbornness can be a real turn on, and I love her for it, but sometimes it’s also a huge turn off.” (Looks around) “She isn’t in the building is she? I know I’m going to get it later for saying this.” (Clears throat). “There are days when I want to tell her to chill out and let someone else take the reins for a while. This rarely happens with her though and once she has her mind-set on something, it’s pretty hard to change it.”

What word best describes true love?

“Perseverance. If you can stick it out with someone despite insurmountable obstacles or odds, then you may just have found true love. More and more often I see couples give up without even trying to make it work.” (Smiles and his eyes take on a far away look) “Look at what Anna and I have been through – I don’t think a relationship can get any crazier than that!”

What’s your ideal romantic evening?

“A walk on the beach at night. It’s an opportunity to get close to nature and away from the distractions of everyday life. Anna and I have spent a lot of time exploring different beaches and we love to just sit in the dark and enjoy the sound of the surf. We have a strict no electronics policy, our attention is totally devoted to each other. Actually, we’ve visited some pretty awesome beaches over the years. I’d love to share some of our beach stories another day if you’re up for it.” (He winks) “I’d have to run them by Anna first to make sure she’s okay with sharing.”

What’s the perfect Valentine’s Day gift?

“Flowers and chocolates have been way over done so scratch those off right away. I like the idea of a quiet dinner in a cozy café somewhere. Anna and I have done that for the last few years actually. I like the challenge of finding a café we haven’t been to and that meets all our valentine day criteria. I’d like to share what that criteria is but I’ve been sworn to secrecy.” (Grins). “Jewelry is another one of my favorite gifts to give and really, how can you go wrong? Women love jewelry.” (Smiles widely) “Guess I’m getting in good with the ladies saying that – the men probably not!”

What is an absolute deal breaker in a relationship?

“Wow, intense question.” (Takes a sip of water and places the glass back on the table beside his chair). “Relationship apathy. If both partners are remorseful and focussed on the same end, a serious committed relationship can survive a lot of hurdles – even cheating. Apathy, on the other hand, is a deal breaker for me. If my partner no longer cares about me or fails to show any interest in our relationship then I think it’s pretty much over.”

Who made the first move you or Anna and what was it?

(Laughs loudly and runs both hands through his hair) “I guess if you’ve read Keeper of the Gate you’d know the answer to that question! For those of you that haven’t had a chance to take a look at it, I don’t want to give too much away.” (pauses) “I think it’s probably fair to say Anna made the first move and that fits in well with stubborn personality. She is a woman who knows what she wants and thankfully I was one of those wants! I can’t really talk about the what though because I don’t want to ruin it for those of your that haven’t read the book yet.”

“Thanks so much for having me here! I would love the chance to come back and talk more about the beaches Anna and I have explored.”

Leave a Reply

